Deadline for next submissions - January 31st 2012

The WINNER of the 2011 Live Screenplay Competition is RUST by Melanie Drewery.

Congratulations to Melanie and all on the shortlist which also includes:-  The Lightness of Touch & Violet Street by Renee Boyer Willisson; Petrol Head by Rochelle Bright; Mill Town by Brett Higginson; and It Wasn't Meant to Be Like This by Michelanne Forster.

The Live Screenplay Competition is a Play Press/Playmarket partnership to find the Best Unfilmed Screenplay.  The winner will be given professional advice and time with a script advisor, as appropriate.

While the primary aim is to encourage screenwriters there is also a secret agenda - to introduce a new audience to the potential of the stage as a way to share ideas - and to discover new theatre writing talent.

If you would like to submit a screenplay (TV dramas also eligible), please contact Jean Betts for entry details at or

2010's winner was DOODLEBUG by Peter Griffin. 

2009's winner was FUN RIDE, by Benedict Reid.